Kansas Rural Water Association > TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE > KAN STEP > KAN STEP Gallery
Wednesday, April 24, 2024
<< Back to Main Project Gallery

Labette County Fire Station

Labette County awarded grant for new fire station in Dennis

Labette County was awarded a KAN STEP grant in the amount of $300,000 on behalf of Osage Township RFD. With the KAN STEP funds local volunteers will build a much needed fire station in the unincorporated community of Dennis. The fire station will encompass 7,630 square feet of space. It will contain three fire bays, a training room/community center, and a small office.

Project architect, Dan Hall with BG Consultants, Manhattan, has estimated the total project cost to be $718,313. Grant administration will be provided by Laura Moore of Pittsburg State University. Sparkplugs for the project are Levi Saye, Bob Huggard and Aaron Saye. The Kansas Rural Water Association will provide inspection services and technical assistance to the volunteers. It is estimated that local volunteers will donate $418,313 in donated labor and equipment to the project.

Volunteers are ready to begin work as soon as possible following environmental review clearance.